2022 年的顶级科学突破和新兴趋势

CAS-Holiday-Card-Digital-1920x1080

在我们结束 2022 年、展望新的一年之际,CAS 科学团队回顾了 2022 年一些最具影响力的科学突破,以及它们对 2023 年及未来的意义。 为了在新的一年里保持领先于新兴趋势、新发现和独特观点,我们邀请您订阅 CAS 洞察

太空探索的新时代

太空探索的新时代

众人皆知,宇宙之浩瀚令人难以置信。 詹姆斯·韦伯太空望远镜所拍摄的第一张照片令人惊叹。 虽然这是有史以来技术最先进、功能最强大的望远镜,但对我们宇宙的了解将引领未来几代人奋斗和探索。 最近,美国国家航空航天局 (NASA) 的阿尔忒弥斯计划发起了最新的月球任务,这将为未来的火星任务铺平道路。 这一太空探索新时代将推动航天以外领域的技术进步,并刺激材料、食品科学、农业甚至化妆品等现实生活应用的进步。

人工智能预测的里程碑

人工智能预测的里程碑

几十年来,科学界一直在寻求更深入地了解蛋白质功能和 3D 结构之间的关系。 2022 年 7 月,Deep Mind 透露,使用 AlphaFold2RoseTTAFoldtrRosettaX-Single 算法,可以通过蛋白质分子的线性氨基酸序列预测折叠的 3D 结构。 这些算法预测将结构数据未知的人类蛋白质数量从 4,800 个减少到 29 个。 尽管人工智能始终存在挑战,但预测蛋白质结构的能力对所有生命科学都产生了影响。 未来的挑战主要包括对具有内在无序特性的蛋白质以及通过翻译后修饰或环境条件改变结构的蛋白质进行建模。 除了蛋白质建模,人工智能的进步将继续重塑工作流程,并在许多行业和学科中扩展发现能力。

合成生物学的发展趋势

合成生物学的发展趋势

合成生物学有可能通过利用工程生物系统(即微生物,基因组的大部分或整个基因组都已被设计或工程化用于该系统)来制造一系列生物分子和材料,如治疗剂、香料、织物、食品和燃料,从而重新定义合成途径。 例如,可以在没有猪胰腺的情况下生产胰岛素,没有牛的情况下生产皮革,以及在没有蜘蛛的情况下生产出蜘蛛丝。 合成生物学单是在生命科学领域的潜力就令人难以置信,但当应用于制造业时,其可以最大限度地减少未来的供应链挑战,提高效率,并以更可持续的方法为生物聚合物或替代材料创造新的机会。 如今,团队使用基于 AI 的代谢建模、CRISPR 工具和合成遗传线路来控制代谢、操纵基因表达并构建生物生产的途径。 随着这门学科开始跨越到多个行业,《生物技术杂志》2022 年的一篇文章介绍了代谢控制和工程挑战的最新发展和新兴趋势。

单细胞代谢组学将迅猛发展

单细胞代谢组学将迅猛发展

虽然在基因测序和规划方面已经取得了很大进展,但基因组学只告诉我们细胞能够做什么。 为了更好地理解细胞功能,蛋白质组学和代谢组学方法从不同的角度揭示了分子图谱和细胞途径。 单细胞代谢组学简要介绍了生物系统内的细胞代谢。 其挑战在于代谢组快速变化,样品制备对于理解细胞功能至关重要。 总之,单细胞代谢组学(来自开源技术、先进的 AI 算法、样品制备以及质谱分析新形式)的一系列最新进展展示了进行详细质谱分析的能力。 这就使得研究人员能够逐个细胞地确定代谢物群体,将释放出巨大的诊断潜力。 在未来,这可能会带来在生物体中甚至单个癌细胞中进行检测的能力。 结合新的生物标志物检测方法、可穿戴医疗设备和 AI 辅助数据分析,这一系列技术将改善诊断和生活。

新型催化剂可实现更环保的化肥生产

新型催化剂可实现更环保的化肥生产

每年,数十亿人依靠化肥来持续生产粮食,减少化肥生产的碳足迹和费用将重塑农业对排放的影响。 Haber-Bosch 化肥生产工艺将氮和氢转化为氨。 为了降低能源需求,东京工业大学的研究人员开发了一种无贵金属氮化物催化剂,该催化剂在氮化镧载体上含有催化活性过渡金属 (Ni),在潮湿环境中稳定。 由于该催化剂不含钌,为减少氨生产过程中的碳足迹提供了一种价格实惠的选择。 La-Al-N 载体以及活性金属,如镍 (Ni) 和钴 (Co),以类似于传统金属氮化物催化剂的速率产生 NH3。 在我们的最新文章中了解更多有关可持续化肥生产的信息。

RNA 医学的进展

Crispr 和 RNA 的进展

虽然 mRNA 在 COVID-19 中的应用得到了很多关注,但 RNA 技术的真正变革才刚刚开始。 最近开发出一种新型多价核苷修饰的 mRNA 流感疫苗。 该疫苗有可能对 20 种已知流感病毒亚型中的任何一种建立免疫保护,并防止未来爆发。 许多罕见的遗传病是 mRNA 治疗的下一个目标,因为这些疾病往往缺少一种重要的蛋白质,而通过 mRNA 疗法替换为健康的蛋白质可以将其治愈。 除了 mRNA 疗法,临床上还有许多 RNA 治疗多种癌症、血液和肺部疾病的候选方案。 RNA 具有高度靶向性、通用性和易定制性,因此适用于各种疾病。 在我们最新的 CAS 洞察报告中,深入了解多样的临床渠道和 RNA 技术的新兴趋势。

快速骨转换

快速骨转换

在合成化学中,安全交换分子骨架中的单个原子或从分子骨架中插入和删除单个原子的挑战是艰巨的。 虽然已经开发了许多方法来用外围取代基使分子官能化(例如 C-H 活化),但芝加哥大学的 Mark Levin 小组开发了第一个对有机化合物骨架进行单原子修饰的方法。 这就使得吡唑和吲唑核的 N–N 键能够选择性断裂,得到嘧啶和喹唑啉。 骨骼编辑方法的进一步发展将使可购买的分子迅速多样化,这可能会促使更快地发现功能性分子和理想的候选药物。

促进肢体再生

促进肢体再生

预计到 2050 年,每年有超过 360 万人受到截肢的影响。 在很长一段时间里,科学家们认为肢体再生的唯一关键是神经。 然而,Muneoka 博士及其团队的工作研究证明了机械负荷对哺乳动物手指再生的重要性,并且证明神经的缺失并不会抑制再生。 塔夫茨大学的研究人员也实现了肢体再生方面的进展,他们通过可穿戴生物反应器使用急性多药输送,成功实现了青蛙肢体的长期再生。 这一早期成功可能会为人类带来更大、更复杂的组织再造进展,最终使退伍军人、糖尿病患者和其他受截肢和创伤影响的人群受益。

核聚变通过点火装置产生更多的净能量

太阳聚变的图片

核聚变是为太阳和恒星提供能量的过程。 几十年来,在地球上复制核聚变作为能源的想法理论上可以满足地球未来的所有能源需求。 目标是迫使轻原子猛烈碰撞,使它们融合并释放出超过消耗的能量。 然而,克服阳性原子核之间的电斥力需要高温和高压。 一旦被克服,聚变会释放大量能量,这也会推动附近原子核的聚变。 先前的聚变尝试使用了强磁场和强激光,但产生的能量却无法超过所消耗的能量。

劳伦斯利弗莫尔国家实验室点火装置的研究人员报告称,该团队能够启动核聚变,利用 2.05 兆焦耳的激光产生 3.15 兆焦耳的能量。 虽然这是一个巨大的突破,但在为我们电网供电的核聚变工厂中实际运行可能仍需要几十年的时间。 在实现这一目标之前,必须解决显著的实施障碍(可扩展性、工厂安全、产生激光所需的能量、浪费的副产品等)。 然而,点燃核聚变的突破是一个重大里程碑,它将为今后在这一成就基础上取得进展铺平道路。

Back to top

Top scientific breakthroughs and emerging trends from 2022

CAS-Holiday-Card-Digital-1920x1080

As we close out 2022 and look toward a new year, the CAS science team reflects on some of the most impactful scientific breakthroughs of 2022, and what they might mean for 2023 and beyond. To stay ahead of emerging trends, new discoveries, and unique perspectives in the new year, we invite you to subscribe to CAS Insights.

A new era of space exploration

New Era of Space Exploration

Need to be reminded of how incredibly vast our universe is? The first ever photos from the James Webb Space Telescope are awe-inspiring. While this is the most technically advanced and powerful telescope ever created, the learnings about our universe will lead to future missions and exploration for generations ahead. Recently, the newest mission to the moon was launched as NASA’s Artemis Program which will pave the way for a future mission to Mars. This new era of space exploration will drive technological advancements in fields beyond astronautics and stimulate progress in real-world applications like materials, food science, agriculture, and even cosmetics.

A milestone in AI predictions

A Milestone in AI predictions

For decades, the scientific community has chased a greater understanding of relationships between protein functions and 3D structures. In July 2022, Deep Mind revealed that the folded 3D structure of a protein molecule can be predicted from its linear amino-acid sequence using AlphaFold2, RoseTTAFold, and trRosettaX-Single algorithms. The algorithms’ predictions reduced the number of human proteins with unknown structural data from 4,800 to just 29. While there will always be challenges with AI, the ability to predict protein structures has implications across all life sciences. Key challenges in the future include modeling proteins with intrinsic disordered properties and those that change structures by post-translational modifications or to environmental conditions. Beyond protein modeling, AI advancements continue to reshape workflows and expand discovery capabilities across many industries and disciplines.

Developing trends in synthetic biology

Developing trends in synthetic biology

Synthetic biology has the potential to redefine synthetic pathways by using engineered biological systems (i.e., microorganisms, for which a large part of the genome or the entire genome has been designed or engineered) to manufacture a range of biomolecules and materials, such as therapeutics, flavors, fabrics, food, and fuels. For example, insulin could be produced without pig pancreas, leather without cows, and spider silk without spiders. The potential in life sciences alone is unbelievable, but when applied to manufacturing industries, synthetic biology could minimize future supply chain challenges, increase efficiency, and create new opportunities for biopolymers or alternative materials with more sustainable approaches. Today, teams use AI-based metabolic modeling, CRISPR tools, and synthetic genetic circuits to control metabolism, manipulate gene expression, and build pathways for bioproduction. As this discipline begins to cross over into multiple industries, the latest developments and emerging trends for metabolic control and engineering challenges are showcased in a 2022 Journal of Biotechnology article.

Single-cell metabolomics set to soar

Single Cell Metabolomics set to soar

While much progress has been made in genetic sequencing and mapping, genomics only tells us what a cell is capable of. To have a better understanding of cellular functions, proteomic and metabolomic approaches offer different angles for revealing molecular profiles and cellular pathways. Single-cell metabolomics gives a snapshot of the cellular metabolism within a biological system. The challenge is that metabolomes change rapidly, and sample preparation is critical to understand cell function. Collectively, a series of recent advancements in single-cell metabolomics (from open-sourced techniques, advanced AI algorithms, sample preparations, and new forms of mass spectrometry) demonstrates the ability to run detailed mass spectral analyses. This allows researchers to determine the metabolite population on a cell-by-cell basis, which would unlock enormous potential for diagnostics. In the future, this could lead to the ability to detect even a single cancerous cell in an organism. Combined with new biomarker detection methods, wearable medical devices and AI- assisted data analysis, this array of technologies will improve diagnosis and lives.

New catalysts enable greener fertilizer production

New catalysts enable greener fertilizer production

Every year, billions of people depend on fertilizers for the ongoing production of food, and reducing the carbon footprint and expenses in fertilizer production would reshape the impact agriculture has on emissions. The Haber-Bosch process for fertilizer production converts nitrogen and hydrogen to ammonia. To reduce energy requirements, researchers from Tokyo Tech have developed a noble-metal-free nitride catalyst containing a catalytically active transition metal (Ni) on a lanthanum nitride support that is stable in the presence of moisture. Since the catalyst doesn't contain ruthenium, it presents an inexpensive option for reducing the carbon footprint of ammonia production. The La-Al-N support, along with the active metals, such as nickel and cobalt (Ni, Co), produced NH3 at rates similar to conventional metal nitride catalysts. Learn more about sustainable fertilizer production in our latest article.

Advancements in RNA medicine

Crispr and RNA advancements

While the application of mRNA in COVID-19 vaccines garnered lots of attention, the real revolution of RNA technology is just beginning. Recently, a new multivalent nucleoside-modified mRNA flu vaccine was developed. This vaccine has the potential to build immune protection against any of the 20 known subtypes of influenza virus and protect against future outbreaks. Many rare genetic diseases are the next target for mRNA therapies, as they are often missing a vital protein and could be cured by replacing a healthy protein through mRNA therapy. In addition to mRNA therapies, the clinical pipeline has many RNA therapeutic candidates for multiple forms of cancers, and blood and lung diseases. RNA is highly targeted, versatile, and easily customized, which makes it applicable to a wide range of diseases. Learn more about the crowded clinical pipeline and the emerging trends in RNA technologies in our latest CAS Insight Report.

Rapid skeletal transformation

Rapid skeletal transformations

Within synthetic chemistry, the challenge of safely exchanging a single atom in a molecular framework or inserting and deleting single atoms from a molecular skeleton has been formidable. While many methods have been developed to functionalize molecules with peripheral substituents (such as C-H activation), one of the first methods to perform single-atom modifications on the skeletons of organic compounds was developed by Mark Levin’s group at the University of Chicago. This enables selective cleaving of the N–N bond of pyrazole and indazole cores to afford pyrimidines and quinazolines. Further development of skeletal editing methods would enable rapid diversification of commercially available molecules, which could lead to much faster discoveries of functional molecules and ideal drug candidates.

Advancing limb regeneration

Advancing Limb Regeneration

Limb loss is projected to affect over 3.6 million individuals per year by 2050. For the longest time, scientists believed the single biggest key to limb regeneration is the presence of nerves. However, work done by Dr. Muneoka and his team demonstrated the importance of mechanical load to digit regeneration in mammals and that the absence of a nerve does not inhibit regeneration. The advancement of limb regeneration was also achieved by researchers at Tufts University who have used acute multidrug delivery, via a wearable bioreactor, to successfully enable long-term limb regeneration in frogs. This early success could potentially lead to larger, more complex tissue re-engineering advances for humans, eventually benefiting military veterans, diabetics, and others impacted by amputation and trauma.

Nuclear fusion generates more net energy with ignition

photo of solar fusion

Nuclear fusion is the process that powers the sun and stars. For decades, the idea of replicating nuclear fusion on earth as a source of energy, in theory, could fulfill all the planet's future energy needs. The goal is to force light atoms to collide so forcefully that they fuse and release more energy than consumed. However, overcoming the electrical repulsion between the positive nuclei requires high temperatures and pressures. Once overcome, fusion releases large amounts of energy, which should also drive the fusion of nearby nuclei. Previous attempts to initiate fusion used strong magnetic fields and powerful lasers but had been unable to generate more energy than they consumed.

Researchers at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory’s ignition facility reported that the team was able to initiate nuclear fusion, which created 3.15 megajoules of energy from the 2.05 megajoule laser used. While this is a monumental breakthrough, the reality of a functioning nuclear fusion plant powering our grid may still be decades in the making. There are significant implementation hurdles (scalability, plant safety, energy required to generate the laser, wasted by-products, etc.) that must be addressed before this comes to fruition. However, the breakthrough of igniting nuclear fusion is a major milestone that will pave the way for future progress to be built upon this achievement.

Back to top