Hexagon shaped overlay

2024 年值得关注的科学突破新兴趋势

5
min read

在各个学科和行业中,科学发现每天都在上演,如何才能在蓬勃发展的格局中保持领先于新兴趋势? 在 CAS,我们对近期的科学突破、所基于的历史发现以及把握未来机遇的专业知识有着独到的见解。 2023 年,我们确定了最重要的科学突破,而 2024 年还将迎来更多突破。 值得关注的新趋势包括绿色化学的加速发展、能源去碳化、CRISPR 的临床验证、生物材料的崛起,以及在治疗癌症到神经退行性疾病等无法治愈的疾病方面取得的新进展。  

人工智能在研发领域地位的提升

Trends-To-Watch-The-Ascension-Of-AI-In-R&D-1920x1080-Hero

虽然人工智能的未来一向具有前瞻性,但在化学和药物发现领域的人工智能革命尚未完全实现。 尽管出现了一些备受瞩目的挫折,但随着该领域的不断发展,有几项突破值得密切关注。 成式人工智能正在对药物发现产生影响,机器学习正在更多地被应用于环境研究,而像 ChatGPT 这样的大型语言模型正在医疗保健应用和临床环境中进行测试。  

许多科学家都在关注 DeepMind 的蛋白质结构预测软件 AlphaFold,该软件变革了人们对蛋白质的理解方式。 DeepMind 和 Isomorphic Labs 最近宣布,旗下最新模型提高了准确性,可以对蛋白质数据库中的几乎所有分子进行预测,并将覆盖范围扩大到配体、核酸和翻译后修饰由人工智能驱动的治疗性抗体发现也越来越受欢迎RubrYc Therapeutics 抗体发现引擎等平台将助力推动这一领域的研究。

尽管大家对人工智能的发展充满期待,但也存在诸多方面的担忧,比如:准确且可访问的训练数据公平性和偏见监管监督的缺失、对学术界、学术研究和出版的影响、大型语言模型中存在的幻觉,甚至是对公共卫生领域信息疫情横生的担忧。 然而,人工智能的不断改进是不可避免的,因此预计在整个 2024 年,我们有望见证许多新兴发展和创新。

“更环保”的绿色化学

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Greener-Green-Chemistry-1920x1080-Hero

绿色化学是一个快速发展的领域,这一领域不断寻求创新方法,致力于最大限度地减少化学过程对环境的影响。 以下是几个正在取得重大突破的新兴趋势:

  • 改进绿色化学预测/结果:绿色化学面临的最大挑战之一是预测新化学品和新工艺对环境的影响。 研究人员正在开发新的计算工具和模型,以帮助更准确地预测这些影响。 这将使化学家能够设计出更安全、更环保的化学品。
  • 减少塑料:每年产生的塑料垃圾超过 3.5 亿吨。 在整个制造商、供应商和零售商领域,减少一次性塑料和微塑料的使用至关重要。 像 MiTerro 这样的创新企业以价值为导向,重新利用工业副产品和生物质废弃物来制造环保、廉价的塑料替代品,很快就会成为行业的期望。 在整个供应链中,降低成本和减少塑料足迹都非常重要。    
  • 替代电池化学:在电池和储能领域,找到锂和钴等稀缺“濒危元素”的替代品至关重要。 虽然锂和钴是许多电池的重要组成部分,但二者正变得稀缺且昂贵。 人们已经扩大了对磷酸铁锂 (LFP) 电池的新投资,这类电池无需使用镍和钴。预计到 2029 年,磷酸铁锂将占电动汽车市场份额的 45%。 预计将继续研究开发钠、铁和镁等替代材料,这些材料资源更丰富、价格更低廉、可持续性更强。
  • 可持续的催化剂催化剂可以加快化学反应或减少所需能量,而不会被消耗殆尽。 贵金属是非常理想的催化剂,但其价格昂贵,且其开采会对环境造成破坏。 即使是非贵金属催化剂,也会因污染而产生毒性,同时还存在处理方面的种种难题。 可持续催化剂由天然无毒的地球丰产元素制成。 近年来,人们越来越关注开发更环保、更少依赖贵金属的可持续催化剂。 催化剂的新进展、其作用及其环境影响有望推动在减少碳足迹方面取得重大进步。  
  • 回收锂离子电池:锂离子回收领域的投资不断增加,2023 年已公布 800 多项专利。 使用固体电解质或液态不易燃电解质可提高锂离子电池的安全性和耐用性,并减少其材料用量。 最后,无溶剂生产电极的方法可减少 N-甲基吡咯烷酮等废弃溶剂的使用,此类溶剂需要回收和小心处理,以防止排放。

生物材料的崛起

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Rise-Of-Biomaterials-1920x1080-Hero

2024 年,用于生物医学应用的新材料有望为许多医疗保健领域带来革命性变化。 生物电子材料便是一个示例,该材料可在电子设备和人体之间形成接口,例如 Neuralink 公司当前开发的脑机接口系统。 该系统使用生物兼容电极网络直接植入大脑,已获得 FDA 批准,将于 2023 年开始人体试验。

  • 生物电子材料:通常是混合材料或复合材料,包含纳米级材料、高度工程化的导电聚合物和生物可吸收物质。 最近开发的设备可以植入体内,暂时使用,然后被人体安全地重新吸收,无需取出。 这一点已经通过完全可吸收的组合式传感器 - 无线电力接收器得到证明,此类设备由锌和生物可降解的聚合物聚乳酸制成。
  • 天然生物材料:2023 年,生物相容性好、天然提取的壳聚糖、纤维素纳米材料和蚕丝等材料已用于制造先进的多功能生物材料。 例如,人们设计了一种用于治疗帕金森病的可注射水凝胶脑植入物,该植入物基于壳聚糖、单宁酸和金纳米粒子之间形成的可逆交联。
  • 生物墨水用于 3D 打印器官和移植开发,可彻底改变患者护理。 目前,此类模型用于研究器官结构,如用于心脏疾病的 3D 打印心脏模型和用于测试药物疗效的 3D 打印肺部模型。 专用生物墨水提高了 3D 打印器官、结构和结果的质量、功效和多功能性。 最后,原始基生物墨水的体积增材制造 (VAM) 等新方法正在开辟 3D 打印创新的新领域。

前往月球和更遥远的地方

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-To-The-Moon-And-Beyond-1920x1080-Hero

全球阿尔忒弥斯计划是美国国家航空航天局 (NASA) 主导的一项国际太空探索计划,旨在到 2025 年将第一位女性和第一位有色人种送上月球,作为在月球上建立可持续人类存在的长期目标的一部分。 此外,NASA 还计划于 2024 年发射名为“欧罗巴快船”(Europa Clipper) 的任务计划,该任务将环绕木星运行,并飞越木星的卫星之一木卫二欧罗巴 (Europa),以研究水的存在及其宜居性。 中国的“嫦娥六号”(Chang’e 6) 任务计划将月球样本带回地球作进一步研究。 日本宇宙航空研究开发机构 (JAXA) 的火星卫星探测 (MMX) 任务计划从火星卫星之一的火卫一 (Phobos) 带回样本。 波音公司预计也将试飞其可重复使用的太空舱“星际客船”(Starliner),该太空舱可载人进入低地轨道。

不过,阿尔忒弥斯计划的研发影响不仅局限于航空航天工程领域,还涉及:

  • 机器人技术:机器人将在阿尔忒弥斯计划中发挥关键作用,执行采集样本、建设基础设施和开展科学研究等诸多任务。 这有望推动新机器人技术的发展,包括自主系统和灵巧的机械手。
  • 空间医学:阿尔忒弥斯计划需要开发新技术,以保护宇航员免受太空旅行的危害,如辐射照射和微重力。 这将包括医学诊断、治疗和对策方面的科学发现。
  • 地球科学:阿尔忒弥斯计划将为研究月球及其环境提供独特的机遇。 这将带来对地球历史、地质和气候的新见解。
  • 材料科学:极端的太空环境需要轻量、耐用、抗辐射的新型材料。 这将在许多行业得到应用,包括航空航天、建筑和能源。
  • 信息技术:阿尔忒弥斯计划将产生大量数据,需要实时处理、分析和共享。 这有望推动 IT 新技术的发展,如云计算、人工智能和机器学习等。

CRISPR 的回报

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-The-CRISPR-Pay-Off-1920x1080-Hero

经过多年的研究、经受挫折且进展缓慢之后,CRISPR 作为治疗平台技术在临床上首次得到了正式的证据。 Intellia Therapeutics 公司获得了 FDA 批准,开始对一种治疗 hATTR 的新药进行关键性的 3 期试验,并使用相同的 Cas9 mRNA 得到了治疗另一种疾病(血管性水肿)的新药。 仅需改变引导 RNA 的 20 个核苷酸就能实现这一目标,由此表明 CRISPR 可以用作临床治疗平台技术。

CRISPR 药物开发技术的第二个重要时刻是,Vertex 公司和 CRISPR Therapeutics 公司宣布,英国药品和健康产品管理局 (MHRA) 批准了首款 CRISPR/Cas9 基因编辑疗法 CASGEVY™,用于治疗镰状细胞病和输血依赖性 β 型地中海贫血症。 这是 CRISPR 疗法首次获准用于人类,也是实现 CRISPR 改善人类健康潜力的里程碑时刻。

除了卓越的基因组编辑能力外,CRISPR-Cas 系统已被证明在许多应用中有效,包括早期癌症诊断。 基于 CRISPR 的基因组和转录组工程以及 CRISPR-Cas12a 和 CRISPR-Cas13a 似乎具有必要特性,有能力成为癌症治疗和诊断方面的强大检测工具。 基于 CRISPR-Cas 的生物传感系统开创了精确诊断早期癌症的新时代。

此外,麻省理工学院 (MIT) 的工程师们还设计了一种新型纳米粒子 DNA 编码纳米传感器,用于检测尿液生物标志物,仅需进行简单的尿液检测就能实现早期癌症诊断。 这种传感器能检测出癌变蛋白,还能区分肿瘤类型或肿瘤对治疗的反应。

终结癌症

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Ending-Cancer-1920x1080-Hero

在过去几年内,免疫肿瘤学领域已经取得了巨大发展。 细胞因子、疫苗、肿瘤定向单克隆抗体和免疫检查点阻断剂等获批产品的市场规模持续增长。 TAC01-HER2 等新型疗法目前正在进行临床试验。 这种独特的疗法使用自体 T 细胞,这种细胞经过基因工程改造,含有 T 细胞抗原偶联剂 (TAC) 受体,能够识别肿瘤细胞上存在的人类表皮生长因子受体 2 (HER2),从而清除肿瘤细胞。 这可能是治疗转移性 HER2 阳性实体瘤的一种有效疗法。

另一种前景广阔的策略是将 CAR-T 细胞与能增强免疫反应的疫苗结合使用,以对抗实体瘤。 免疫增强有助于机体产生更多的宿主 T 细胞,从而靶向 CAR-T 细胞无法杀死的其他肿瘤抗原

另一个值得注意的趋势是经过改良的高效个性化疗法迎来发展。 例如,最近开发的一种个性化 RNA 新抗原疫苗,该疫苗基于尿苷 mRNA-脂质纳米颗粒,经证实对胰腺导管腺癌 (PDAC) 具有效果。 免疫肿瘤学面临的主要挑战是耐药性、缺乏可预测的生物标志物以及肿瘤的异质性。 因此,设计新型治疗策略可能是未来的研究重点。

能源去碳化

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Decarbonizing-Energy-1920x1080-Hero

目前,多项资金充足的工作正在进行中,以便在 2024 年通过不产生(或少产生)二氧化碳的能源取代化石燃料能源,从而实现能源生产的去碳化。

其中一项工作是在现有电网中安装大规模储能设备。 这类设备是使用可再生能源的重要组成部分,因为它们提供了额外的电力供应和需求,以补充可再生能源。 目前有多种电网规模的储能装置正处于开发阶段,其储能量和向电网放电的速度各不相同。 有些是物理类型(飞轮、抽水蓄能和压缩空气),有些是化学类型(传统电池、液流电池、超级电容器和氢气),但所有类型都是化学和材料开发研究的主题。 美国政府正在通过税收减免(作为《通货膨胀削减法案》的一部分)和一项价值 70 亿美元的计划来鼓励这一领域的发展,以建立地区氢气中心。

同时,核能在 2024 年仍将是一个较为活跃的研发领域。 在核裂变方面,多家公司正在开发小型模块化反应堆 (SMR) 用于电力生产和化学品生产工作,包括制氢。 核聚变反应堆的开发涉及物理学和材料科学的基础研究。 主要挑战之一是找到一种可用于面向聚变等离子体的反应堆壁材料;到目前为止,候选材料包括高熵合金,甚至还有熔融金属

神经退行性疾病

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Neurodegenerative-Diseases-1920x1080-Hero

神经退行性疾病是一项重大的公共卫生问题,也是全球引发死亡和残障问题的主要原因。 虽然目前还没有治愈任何神经退行性疾病的方法,但新的科学发现和对这些途径的理解可能是帮助患者改善预后的关键。

  • 阿尔茨海默病:有两种免疫治疗药物现已获得 FDA 批准,用于减少早期阿尔茨海默氏症患者的认知和功能衰退。 Aducannumab (Aduhelm®) 于 2021 年获得加速批准,这是自 2003 年以来批准的首个阿尔茨海默氏症新疗法,也是首个针对疾病病理生理学的疗法,可减少早期阿尔茨海默氏症患者大脑中的 β-淀粉样蛋白斑块。 Lecanemab (Leqembi®) 于 2023 年获得传统批准,是首个针对阿尔茨海默病病理生理学并显示出临床疗效的药物,可降低疾病进展速度,减缓早期成人患者的认知和功能衰退。
  • 帕金森病:除了药物和深脑刺激外,针对帕金森病症状的治疗正处于研究阶段,并已获得 FDA 批准。 无创医疗设备 Exablate Neuro(2021 年获得 FDA 批准)使用聚焦超声波治疗大脑一侧,可缓解震颤、肢体僵硬和运动障碍等严重症状。 2023 年,生物标志物 α-突触核蛋白经过验证,为帕金森病研究带来了重大消息。 研究人员开发出了一种名为 α-突触核蛋白播种扩增测定的工具,适用于帕金森病确诊患者和未出现临床症状患者,可以对二者脑脊液中的生物标记物进行检测。
  • 萎缩性脊髓侧索硬化症 (ALS):在过去两年内,FDA 批准了两种药物用于减缓 ALS 患者的疾病进展。 Relyvrio® 于 2022 年获得批准,可阻止或减缓 ALS 患者的神经元细胞死亡加剧。 Tofersen (Qalsody®) 是一种反义寡核苷酸,于 2023 年通过加速审批途径获得批准。 Tofersen 可以靶向由突变的超氧化物歧化酶 1 (SOD1) 基因产生的 RNA,从而消除毒性 SOD1 蛋白的产生。 最近发表的关于基因突变如何导致 ALS 的基因研究正在进行中,研究人员最近发现了 NEK1 基因突变导致 ALS 的机制。 这一发现暗示了一种可能的合理治疗方法,即通过稳定 ALS 患者的微管来实施治疗。

Gain new perspectives for faster progress directly to your inbox.

Hexagon shaped overlay

Scientific breakthroughs: 2024 emerging trends to watch

5
min read

Across disciplines and industries, scientific discoveries happen every day, so how can you stay ahead of emerging trends in a thriving landscape? At CAS, we have a unique view of recent scientific breakthroughs, the historical discoveries they were built upon, and the expertise to navigate the opportunities ahead. In 2023, we identified the top scientific breakthroughs, and 2024 has even more to offer. New trends to watch include the accelerated expansion of green chemistry, the clinical validation of CRISPR, the rise of biomaterials, and the renewed progress in treating the undruggable, from cancer to neurodegenerative diseases. To hear what the experts from Lawrence Liverpool National Lab and Oak Ridge National Lab are saying on this topic, join us for a free webinar on January 25 from 10:00 to 11:30 a.m. EDT for a panel discussion on the trends to watch in 2024.

The ascension of AI in R&D

Trends-To-Watch-The-Ascension-Of-AI-In-R&D-1920x1080-Hero

While the future of AI has always been forward-looking, the AI revolution in chemistry and drug discovery has yet to be fully realized. While there have been some high-profile set-backs, several breakthroughs should be watched closely as the field continues to evolve. Generative AI is making an impact in drug discovery, machine learning is being used more in environmental research, and large language models like ChatGPT are being tested in healthcare applications and clinical settings.

Many scientists are keeping an eye on AlphaFold, DeepMind’s protein structure prediction software that revolutionized how proteins are understood. DeepMind and Isomorphic Labs have recently announced how their latest model shows improved accuracy, can generate predictions for almost all molecules in the Protein Data Bank, and expand coverage to ligands, nucleic acids, and posttranslational modifications. Therapeutic antibody discovery driven by AI is also gaining popularity, and platforms such as the RubrYc Therapeutics antibody discovery engine will help advance research in this area.

Though many look at AI development with excitement, concerns over accurate and accessible training data, fairness and bias, lack of regulatory oversight, impact on academia, scholarly research and publishing, hallucinations in large language models, and even concerns over infodemic threats to public health are being discussed. However, continuous improvement is inevitable with AI, so expect to see many new developments and innovations throughout 2024.

‘Greener’ green chemistry

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Greener-Green-Chemistry-1920x1080-Hero

Green chemistry is a rapidly evolving field that is constantly seeking innovative ways to minimize the environmental impact of chemical processes. Here are several emerging trends that are seeing significant breakthroughs:

  • Improving green chemistry predictions/outcomes: One of the biggest challenges in green chemistry is predicting the environmental impact of new chemicals and processes. Researchers are developing new computational tools and models that can help predict these impacts with greater accuracy. This will allow chemists to design safer and more environmentally friendly chemicals.
  • Reducing plastics: More than 350 million tons of plastic waste is generated every year. Across the landscape of manufacturers, suppliers, and retailers, reducing the use of single-use plastics and microplastics is critical. New value-driven approaches by innovators like MiTerro that reuse industrial by-products and biomass waste for eco-friendly and cheaper plastic replacements will soon be industry expectations. Lowering costs and plastic footprints will be important throughout the entire supply chain.    
  • Alternative battery chemistry: In the battery and energy storage space, finding alternatives to scarce "endangered elements" like lithium and cobalt will be critical. While essential components of many batteries, they are becoming scarce and expensive. New investments in lithium iron phosphate (LFP) batteries that do not use nickel and cobalt have expanded, with 45% of the EV market share being projected for LFP in 2029. Continued research is projected for more development in alternative materials like sodium, iron, and magnesium, which are more abundant, less expensive, and more sustainable.
  • More sustainable catalysts: Catalysts speed up a chemical reaction or decrease the energy required without getting consumed. Noble metals are excellent catalysts; however, they are expensive and their mining causes environmental damage. Even non-noble metal catalysts can also be toxic due to contamination and challenges with their disposal. Sustainable catalysts are made of earth-abundant elements that are also non-toxic in nature. In recent years, there has been a growing focus on developing sustainable catalysts that are more environmentally friendly and less reliant on precious metals. New developments with catalysts, their roles, and environmental impact will drive meaningful progress in reducing carbon footprints.  
  • Recycling lithium-ion batteries: Lithium-ion recycling has seen increased investments with more than 800 patents already published in 2023. The use of solid electrolytes or liquid nonflammable electrolytes may improve the safety and durability of LIBs and reduce their material use. Finally, a method to manufacture electrodes without solvents could reduce the use of deprecated solvents such as N-methylpyrrolidinone, which require recycling and careful handling to prevent emissions.

Rise of biomaterials

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Rise-Of-Biomaterials-1920x1080-Hero

New materials for biomedical applications could revolutionize many healthcare segments in 2024. One example is bioelectronic materials, which form interfaces between electronic devices and the human body, such as the brain-computer interface system being developed by Neuralink. This system, which uses a network of biocompatible electrodes implanted directly in the brain, was given FDA approval to begin human trials in 2023.

  • Bioelectronic materials: are often hybrids or composites, incorporating nanoscale materials, highly engineered conductive polymers, and bioresorbable substances. Recently developed devices can be implanted, used temporarily, and then safely reabsorbed by the body without the need for removal. This has been demonstrated by a fully bioresorbable, combined sensor-wireless power receiver made from zinc and the biodegradable polymer, poly(lactic acid).
  • Natural biomaterials: that are biocompatible and naturally derived (such as chitosan, cellulose nanomaterials, and silk) are used to make advanced multifunctional biomaterials in 2023. For example, they designed an injectable hydrogel brain implant for treating Parkinson’s disease, which is based on reversible crosslinks formed between chitosan, tannic acid, and gold nanoparticles.
  • Bioinks: are used for 3D printing of organs and transplant development which could revolutionize patient care. Currently, these models are used for studying organ architecture like 3D-printed heart models for cardiac disorders and 3D-printed lung models to test the efficacy of drugs. Specialized bioinks enhance the quality, efficacy, and versatility of 3D-printed organs, structures, and outcomes. Finally, new approaches like volumetric additive manufacturing (VAM) of pristine silk-based bioinks are unlocking new frontiers of innovation for 3D printing.

To the moon and beyond

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-To-The-Moon-And-Beyond-1920x1080-Hero

The global Artemis program is a NASA-led international space exploration program that aims to land the first woman and the first person of color on the Moon by 2025 as part of the long-term goal of establishing a sustainable human presence on the Moon. Additionally, the NASA mission called Europa Clipper, scheduled for a 2024 launch, will orbit around Jupiter and fly by Europa, one of Jupiter’s moons, to study the presence of water and its habitability. China’s mission, Chang’e 6, plans to bring samples from the moon back to Earth for further studies. The Martian Moons Exploration (MMX) mission by Japan’s JAXA plans to bring back samples from Phobos, one of the Mars moons. Boeing is also expected to do a test flight of its reusable space capsule Starliner, which can take people to low-earth orbit.

The R&D impact of Artemis extends to more fields than just aerospace engineering, though:

  • Robotics: Robots will play a critical role in the Artemis program, performing many tasks, such as collecting samples, building infrastructure, and conducting scientific research. This will drive the development of new robotic technologies, including autonomous systems and dexterous manipulators.
  • Space medicine: The Artemis program will require the development of new technologies to protect astronauts from the hazards of space travel, such as radiation exposure and microgravity. This will include scientific discoveries in medical diagnostics, therapeutics, and countermeasures.
  • Earth science: The Artemis program will provide a unique opportunity to study the Moon and its environment. This will lead to new insights into the Earth's history, geology, and climate.
  • Materials science: The extreme space environment will require new materials that are lightweight, durable, and radiation resistant. This will have applications in many industries, including aerospace, construction, and energy.
  • Information technology: The Artemis program will generate a massive amount of data, which will need to be processed, analyzed, and shared in real time. This will drive the development of new IT technologies, such as cloud computing, artificial intelligence, and machine learning.

The CRISPR pay-off

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-The-CRISPR-Pay-Off-1920x1080-Hero

After years of research, setbacks, and minimal progress, the first formal evidence of CRISPR as a therapeutic platform technology in the clinic was realized. Intellia Therapeutics received FDA clearance to initiate a pivotal phase 3 trial of a new drug for the treatment of hATTR, and using the same Cas9 mRNA, got a new medicine treating a different disease, angioedema. This was achieved by only changing 20 nucleotides of the guide RNA, suggesting that CRISPR can be used as a therapeutic platform technology in the clinic.

The second great moment for CRISPR drug development technology came when Vertex and CRISPR Therapeutics announced the authorization of the first CRISPR/Cas9 gene-edited therapy, CASGEVY™, by the United Kingdom MHRA, for the treatment of sickle cell disease and transfusion-dependent beta-thalassemia. This was the first approval of a CRISPR-based therapy for human use and is a landmark moment in realizing the potential of CRISPR to improve human health.

In addition to its remarkable genome editing capability, the CRISPR-Cas system has proven to be effective in many applications, including early cancer diagnosis. CRISPR-based genome and transcriptome engineering and CRISPR-Cas12a and CRISPR-Cas13a appear to have the necessary characteristics to be robust detection tools for cancer therapy and diagnostics. CRISPR-Cas-based biosensing system gives rise to a new era for precise diagnoses of early-stage cancers.

MIT engineers have also designed a new nanoparticle DNA-encoded nanosensor for urinary biomarkers that could enable early cancer diagnoses with a simple urine test. The sensors, which can detect cancerous proteins, could also distinguish the type of tumor or how it responds to treatment.

Ending cancer

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Ending-Cancer-1920x1080-Hero

The immuno-oncology field has seen tremendous growth in the last few years. Approved products such as cytokines, vaccines, tumor-directed monoclonal antibodies, and immune checkpoint blockers continue to grow in market size. Novel therapies like TAC01-HER2 are currently undergoing clinical trials. This unique therapy uses autologous T cells, which have been genetically engineered to incorporate T cell Antigen Coupler (TAC) receptors that recognize human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) presence on tumor cells to remove them. This could be a promising therapy for metastatic, HER2-positive solid tumors.

Another promising strategy aims to use the CAR-T cells against solid tumors in conjunction with a vaccine that boosts immune response. Immune boosting helps the body create more host T cells that can target other tumor antigens that CAR-T cells cannot kill.

Another notable trend is the development of improved and effective personalized therapies. For instance, a recently developed personalized RNA neoantigen vaccine, based on uridine mRNA–lipoplex nanoparticles, was found effective against pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (PDAC). Major challenges in immuno-oncology are therapy resistance, lack of predictable biomarkers, and tumor heterogenicity. As a result, devising novel treatment strategies could be a future research focus.

Decarbonizing energy

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Decarbonizing-Energy-1920x1080-Hero

Multiple well-funded efforts are underway to decarbonize energy production by replacing fossil fuel-based energy sources with sources that generate no (or much less) CO2 in 2024.

One of these efforts is to incorporate large-scale energy storage devices into the existing power grid. These are an important part of enabling the use of renewable sources since they provide additional supply and demand for electricity to complement renewable sources. Several types of grid-scale storage that vary in the amount of energy they can store and how quickly they can discharge it into the grid are under development. Some are physical (flywheels, pumped hydro, and compressed air) and some are chemical (traditional batteries, flow batteries, supercapacitors, and hydrogen), but all are the subject of active chemistry and materials development research. The U.S. government is encouraging development in this area through tax credits as part of the Inflation Reduction Act and a $7 billion program to establish regional hydrogen hubs.

Meanwhile, nuclear power will continue to be an active R&D area in 2024. In nuclear fission, multiple companies are developing small modular reactors (SMRs) for use in electricity production and chemical manufacturing, including hydrogen. The development of nuclear fusion reactors involves fundamental research in physics and materials science. One major challenge is finding a material that can be used for the wall of the reactor facing the fusion plasma; so far, candidate materials have included high-entropy alloys and even molten metals.

Neurodegenerative diseases

INSGENENGSOC101826-2024-Trends-To-Watch-Neurodegenerative-Diseases-1920x1080-Hero

Neurodegenerative diseases are a major public health concern, being a leading cause of death and disability worldwide. While there is currently no cure for any neurodegenerative disease, new scientific discoveries and understandings of these pathways may be the key to helping patient outcomes.

  • Alzheimer’s disease: Two immunotherapeutics have received FDA approval to reduce both cognitive and functional decline in individuals living with early Alzheimer's disease. Aducannumab (Aduhelm®) received accelerated approval in 2021 and is the first new treatment approved for Alzheimer’s since 2003 and the first therapy targeting the disease pathophysiology, reducing beta-amyloid plaques in the brains of early Alzheimer’s disease patients. Lecanemab (Leqembi®) received traditional approval in 2023 and is the first drug targeting Alzheimer’s disease pathophysiology to show clinical benefits, reducing the rate of disease progression and slowing cognitive and functional decline in adults with early stages of the disease.
  • Parkinson’s disease: New treatment modalities outside of pharmaceuticals and deep brain stimulation are being researched and approved by the FDA for the treatment of Parkinson’s disease symptoms. The non-invasive medical device, Exablate Neuro (approved by the FDA in 2021), uses focused ultrasound on one side of the brain to provide relief from severe symptoms such as tremors, limb rigidity, and dyskinesia. 2023 brought major news for Parkinson’s disease research with the validation of the biomarker alpha-synuclein. Researchers have developed a tool called the α-synuclein seeding amplification assay which detects the biomarker in the spinal fluid of people diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease and individuals who have not shown clinical symptoms.
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS): Two pharmaceuticals have seen FDA approval in the past two years to slow disease progression in individuals with ALS. Relyvrio® was approved in 2022 and acts by preventing or slowing more neuron cell death in patients with ALS. Tofersen (Qalsody®), an antisense oligonucleotide, was approved in 2023 under the accelerated approval pathway. Tofersen targets RNA produced from mutated superoxide dismutase 1 (SOD1) genes to eliminate toxic SOD1 protein production. Recently published genetic research on how mutations contribute to ALS is ongoing with researchers recently discovering how NEK1 gene mutations lead to ALS. This discovery suggests a possible rational therapeutic approach to stabilizing microtubules in ALS patients.

Gain new perspectives for faster progress directly to your inbox.