常见问题

:美国化学文摘社 (CAS) 是什么机构?从事什么业务?

:CAS 是美国化学会 (ACS) 旗下的分支机构,秉承 ACS“运用化学的力量改善人们的生活”的愿景。CAS 团队由训练有素的科学家组成,负责鉴别、收集和整合所有公开披露的化学信息,创建世界上最宝贵的化学信息数据库,这对全球创新至关重要。全球各地的科研人员、专利专家和商业领袖均信赖CAS 的研究解决方案来探索发现和推动创新。CAS 位于俄亥俄州哥伦布市。


问:如有疑问或问题,我该联系谁?

CAS 客户中心。他们可协助解决有关 CAS 产品和服务、帐户设置和状态、收费信息、获取用户文档等一般问题,并可协助制定使用 CAS 产品时的检索策略。

CAS 客户中心的工作时间为美国东部时间上午 8:00 - 下午 6:00(星期一至星期五)。


问:什么是 CAS 登记号®

CAS 登记号(常被称为 CAS RN® 或 CAS 号)是化学物质的唯一标识符。CAS 登记号本身不具备内在化学含义,但在多种学名、通用名、专有名或俗名共存的情况下,能够提供一种明确的方法来鉴别化学物质或分子结构。

在众多公共和商业数据库以及化学品目录中均可使用CAS 登记号(当然,在CAS出品的所有数据库中都可使用)。


问:CAS 如何对出版刊物编写摘要/索引?

答:我们资源筛选团队的同事们会确定某期刊是否符合CAS数据库的标引和摘要标准。如果您希望CAS收录您的期刊,请:

  1. 在线填写并提交期刊信息表,或
  2. 对于纸质刊物,请寄送三份不同的近期刊物至

CAS
Acquisitions Dept.
P.O. Box 3012
Columbus, OH 43210
U.S.A.


问:CAS 是否提供任何开放性化学信息资源?

答:CAS 提供 Common Chemistry(一种免费网络资源),涵盖公众感兴趣的约 7,900 种化学物质的 CAS 登记号。Common Chemistry 对于那些了解某种通用化学物质名称或 CAS 登记号并希望将两项信息进行匹配的人非常实用。CAS 与维基百科联合开发了此资源,并鼓励您使用维基百科链接(如有)或其他一般化学信息来源,了解有关此类化学品的更多信息。

CAS 来源索引 (CASSISM) 检索工具是另一种免费在线资源,旨在为需要准确著录信息的研究人员和图书馆员提供支持。使用此免费工具可快速识别或确认 CAS 自 1907 年以来索引出版物的刊名及缩写,包括持续和非持续出版的科技刊物。 快速轻松地定位您所需的文献著录详情。通过刊名、缩写、CODEN、ISBN 或 ISSN 进行检索。


:CAS位于哪里,你们是否有来访指南?

答:CAS的地址是:
2540 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH

在此查看地图和来访指南


 

Contact CAS

Let us know how we can best serve you.

FAQs

Q. What is CAS and what do we do?

A. CAS is a division of the American Chemical Society (ACS) and is dedicated to the ACS vision of improving people's lives through the transforming power of chemistry. The CAS team of highly trained scientists identifies, aggregates, and organizes all publicly disclosed chemistry information, creating the world's most valuable collection of content that is vital to innovation worldwide. Scientific researchers, patent professionals and business leaders around the world rely on a suite of research solutions from CAS to enable discovery and fuel innovation. CAS is located in Columbus, Ohio.

Q. Who do I contact if I have a question or problem?

A. The CAS Customer Center is the central source for all inquiries. They can assist with general questions about CAS products and services, account setup and status, billing information, obtaining user documentation, and they can assist in developing search strategies when using CAS products.

Operating hours for the CAS Customer Center are 8am – 6pm US Eastern Time, (Monday-Friday)

Q. What is a CAS Registry Number®

A. CAS Registry Numbers (often referred to as CAS RN® or CAS Numbers) are universally used to provide a unique, unmistakable identifier for chemical substances. A CAS Registry Number itself has no inherent chemical significance but provides an unambiguous way to identify a chemical substance or molecular structure when there are many possible systematic, generic, proprietary or trivial names.

CAS Registry Numbers are used in many other public and private databases as well as chemical inventory listings and, of course, are included in all CAS-produced databases.

Q. How can a publication get abstracted/indexed by CAS?

A. Our selection team of chemists determines whether a journal meets our editorial criteria for abstracting and indexing in the CAS databases. Publishers interested in having a journal covered in the CAS databases should:

  1. Complete and submit the Journal Information Form for journals published online, or
  2. For journals published in print, please send three different and recent issues to

CAS
Acquisitions Dept.
P.O. Box 3012
Columbus, OH 43210
U.S.A.

Q. Does CAS provide any open chemical information resources?

A. CAS offers Common Chemistry, a free web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. Common Chemistry is helpful for those who know either a name or CAS Registry Number of a common chemical and want to pair both pieces of information. CAS has collaborated with Wikipedia in developing this resource and encourages you to use the Wikipedia link (when available) or other sources of general information on chemistry, to learn more about these chemicals.

The CAS Source Index (CASSISM) Search Tool is another free online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.  Locate the bibliographic details you need quickly and easily. Search by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN.

Contact CAS
Let us know how we can best serve you.