核能对解决气候变化问题是否至关重要?

Gilles Georges, Vice President Content Operations, CAS
photo showing nuclear power plant stacks

虽然作为全球能源结构中增长最快的部分,绿色能源的足迹继续增加,但由于效率和容量障碍,仍然明显落后于传统的高碳能源选择。 这些限制阻碍了绿色能源成为主导的主流能源选择。 在绿色能源实现大规模使用之前,还有什么其他可扩展的、非二氧化碳排放的能源可以帮助我们缩小这一差距? 核能的无碳特性、经证明的有效性和可扩展性能否使其成为一种过渡候选能源,并可能成为另一种可行的、被广泛接受的未来能源选择?

除了零排放的规划,目前约 450 座核电站的满负荷运行时间超过 90%,而燃煤电厂和太阳能电厂的满负荷运行时间分别为 50% 和 25%。 然而,全世界只有 10% 的电力需求是由核电站提供的(图 1)。 为什么这些年核能发展速度并没有加快?

显示 2021 年电力生产来源的图表
图 1. 截至 2021 年的电力生产份额。

尽管已经证明,核能是一种经济的能源生产选择,但由于与放射性相关的风险及其对环境的影响,核能仍然颇具争议性。 切尔诺贝利和福岛事件提醒我们,原子裂变需要完美的控制和警惕,小事件可能会演变成大灾难。

核反应和放射性

核反应堆技术拥有 18,000 多个反应堆经验,该技术成熟、多样化,并受益于数十年的技术改进,使反应堆更安全、更可靠、更耐用、更高效。

为了发电,核电站使用铀同位素的混合物,主要由 238U 和 235U 作为燃料。大多数商用核电厂使用低浓缩铀 (LEU) 燃料,即 235U 浓度在 3-5% 之间的铀,而高浓缩铀 (HEU) 的 235U 浓度约为武器级应用所需的 90%。  

铀浓缩反应图解
图 2. 铀浓缩——铀 235 同位素浓度从 0.3% 上升到 3%。

235U 和 238U 一旦作为 LEU 燃料进入反应堆,就会采取两种不同的原子转化途径,如图 3 所示。通过捕捉中子,在 238U 转化为可裂变的 239Pu 的情况下,239Pu 和 235U 都会裂变成更小的核,即裂变产物。 每一个裂变反应也会以热和电离辐射的形式释放三个中子和大量能量。

核裂变反应的图解
图 3. 核燃料裂变反应。

这种原子的转变或衰变是福也是祸。 所谓福,是因为相对于所涉及的少量燃料而言,它会产生大量的能量,这些能量将通过热交换器和高压水轮机来发电。 所谓祸,是因为与嬗变相关的原子衰变也会产生电离辐射和粒子,统称为放射性。 为了发电,反应堆中的放射性是需要的,但这种放射性在被称为“乏燃料”的燃料废物中持续存在,如果不加以控制,可能有害。

在反应堆中连续进行 3-5 年的核活动后,可裂变同位素的燃料浓度最终会降到最低水平以下,以维持电力生产的链式反应。 乏燃料从反应堆中卸下,被归类为“高水平”放射性废物 (HLW)。 HLW 只占放射性废物总量的 3%,但却占废物总放射性的 95%。 因此,HLW 是全球放射性废物管理战略中的一个主要焦点。   

平均容量为 1000 MWe(足以满足 100 多万人需求)的核电站每年产生 25-30 吨 HLW,零碳排放。 一家燃煤电厂每年向大气中释放 30 万吨煤灰和 600 多万吨二氧化碳。 然而,通过对乏燃料的再加工和再利用来减少核废料的足迹和放射性,将解决一项复杂的危险废物管理挑战。

核乏燃料回收方案

核乏燃料再处理技术自 20 世纪 40 年代末便已存在。 这一技术很容易理解且已在技术上经过证明,但只有少数国家投资于再处理。 法国和俄罗斯是对乏燃料进行再处理和再利用的两个主要国家。 平均而言,大约 95% 的乏燃料废物是铀(大部分是 238U),1% 为钚,其余是各种各样的裂变产物,这些产物具有较低的原子序数和次锕系元素(图 4)。 乏燃料再处理技术允许从其他锕系元素和裂变产物中分离铀和钚同位素。  

PUREX 核分离过程图解
图 4. PUREX 将乏燃料分为三相。


主要的再处理选项称为 PUREX(钚和铀还原提取)。 PUREX 使用湿法冶金分离技术将乏燃料分离为三相:

  1. 铀同位素
  2. 钚同位素
  3. 带有次锕系元素的裂变产物

第三相被认为是 HLW,因为存在这些次锕系元素和高放射性、中等寿命的裂变产物(即放射性半衰期约为 30 年的 90Sr 和 137Cs)。 PUREX 的主要优点是回收了大量的可用铀,而这些铀在其他情况下被认为是废物,并显著减少了 HLW 的量。

虽然 PUREX 减少了废物量,但并没有解决其放射性问题。 此外,239Pu 与其他锕系元素分离会引发对核武器扩散的担忧。

PUREX 工艺变体已经在世界各地提出并实施,以解决 HLW 的放射性和钚扩散风险。 这些 PUREX 变体包括混合 239Pu 与次锕系元素,可防止被武器化,同时创造可接受的再处理锕系元素混合燃料。 其他变体包括混合铀、钚和所有超铀元素(比铀的原子序数更高的元素),使裂变产物成为唯一的废物。

考虑到 90% 以上的铀在从反应堆中卸下乏燃料棒时是“未燃烧”的,回收 HLW 很有必要。 回收未使用的铀和钚可以多产生约 25-30% 的电力。 截至 2020 年底,全球从商用核电反应堆中产生了 40 万吨废旧燃料,其中约 12 万吨 (30%) 被重新处理并用作核燃料。  


核反应堆设计的进展

核反应堆设计的最新进展提高了能源生产的效率和安全性。 CAS 内容合集™显示,自 2018 年以来,专利和期刊活动显著增加,这表明兴趣重新燃起,这主要是由亚洲的组织推动(图 5a 和 5b)。  

核能技术的顶级专利权人
图 5a. 2000 年以来核能技术的顶级专利权人。
自 2000 年以来拥有最多核能期刊出版物的组织
图 5b. 自 2000 年以来在核能方面发表最多期刊的组织。


图 6 显示了与新的、先进的核反应堆设计相关的出版物数量。 这些数据证实,围绕这些新的核反应堆技术的研究活动正在增加。  

核反应堆设计类型出版物数量图表
图 6. 先进的核反应堆设计及其与出版物数量的关联

 

核能的未来潜力

核能的复兴一直是一个永恒的主题,但一些障碍和挑战仍然使核能难以实现几十年前萌生的希望和承诺。 巨额的前期资金、不断变化的监管规定、成本超支以及政治上的两极分化,使得核电站的交付经历了长达十年的曲折历程。 这严重阻碍了政府和投资者对核能的考虑,即使核能的优势和潜力已被证明且不可否认。 《华尔街日报》中的一篇文章同样也谈到了在核能技术领域存在的种种挑战及近期进展。

对无碳能源的需求、新反应堆技术的进展,以及新的乏燃料回收和再利用替代方案,都可能推动核能成为应对全球气候变化挑战的关键工具。



感谢 Elaine McWhirter 提供科学咨询。

Back to top

Is nuclear energy critical in solving climate change?

Gilles Georges, Vice President Content Operations, CAS
photo showing nuclear power plant stacks

While green energy’s footprint continues to increase as the fastest growing segment within the global energy mix, it still trails significantly behind conventional, high-carbon energy options due to efficiency and capacity hurdles. These limitations are preventing green energy from becoming a predominant, mainstream energy option. What other scalable, non-CO2 emitting form of energy could help us close the gap until green energy becomes a large-scale reality for us? Could nuclear energy’s carbon-free profile, proven efficiency and scalability make nuclear power a transition candidate, and possibly another viable, widely accepted energy option for the future? 

In addition to their zero-emission blueprint, the approximately 450 nuclear power plants operate today at full capacity greater than 90% of the time compared to 50% for coal and 25% for solar plants. However, only 10% of the total electricity demand worldwide is supplied by nuclear power plants (Figure 1). Why hasn’t nuclear energy grown faster over the years? 

chart showing source of electricity production in 2021
Figure 1. Share of electricity production by source 2021. 

Although a proven and economical option for energy production, nuclear energy carries a controversial image due to the risks associated with radioactivity and its impact on the environment. The Chernobyl and Fukushima events reminded us that atomic fission requires flawless control and vigilance and that small incidents can turn into major catastrophes. 

Nuclear Reactions and Radioactivity 

With over 18,000 reactor-years of experience, nuclear reactor technology is well established, diversified, and benefits from decades of technological improvements making reactors safer, more reliable, durable, and efficient. 

To generate electricity, nuclear power plants use a mixture of uranium isotopes, mainly 238U and 235U as fuel. Most commercial nuclear power plants use low enriched uranium (LEU) fuel, which is uranium with 235U enriched between 3-5%, as opposed to highly enriched uranium (HEU) which has the 235U concentrations of ~90% needed for weapon grade applications.  

illustration of uranium enrichment reaction
Figure 2. Uranium enrichment – Uranium-235 isotope concentration increases from 0.3% to 3%.

Once in the reactor as the LEU fuel, 235U and 238U take two different atomic transformation paths as Figure 3 illustrates. Through the capture of a neutron, and in the case of 238U which transmutes to fissile 239Pu, both 239Pu and 235U fission into smaller nuclei, i.e., fission products. The fission reactions each also release three neutrons and a significant amount of energy in the form of heat and ionizing radiation.

illustration of nuclear fission reactions
Figure 3. Nuclear fuel fission reactions.

This atomic transformation or decay is a blessing and a curse.  A blessing because in relation to the small quantity of fuel involved, it produces enormous amounts of energy that will be extracted through heat exchangers and high-pressure water turbines to produce electricity. It is a curse because transmutation associated atomic decay also produces ionizing radiation and particles, collectively called radioactivity. The radioactivity in the reactor for electricity production is desired, but this radioactivity persists within the fuel waste, called “spent fuel”, and can be harmful if not contained and controlled. 

After 3-5 years of continuous nuclear activity in a reactor, the fuel concentration in fissile isotopes eventually falls below the minimum level to maintain a chain reaction for electricity production purposes. The spent fuel is unloaded from the reactor and categorized as “high-level” radioactive waste (HLW). HLW represents only 3% of the total radioactive waste volume but it accounts for 95% of the waste’s total radioactivity. Thus, HLW is a major focus of radioactive waste management strategies worldwide.   

An average nuclear power plant with a capacity of 1000 MWe (sufficient to supply the needs of more than one million people), produces 25-30 tonnes of HLW per year and zero carbon emissions. A coal-fired plant releases 300,000 tonnes of ash and more than 6 million tonnes of CO2 to the atmosphere annually. However, reducing the footprint and the radioactive potency of nuclear waste through reprocessing and reuse of spent fuel would address a complex hazardous waste management challenge. 

Nuclear spent fuel recycling options 

Nuclear spent fuel reprocessing technology has existed since the late 1940’s. It is well understood and technically proven but only a few countries have invested in reprocessing. France and Russia are the two main countries reprocessing and reusing spent fuel. On average, about 95% of spent fuel waste is uranium (the majority is 238U), 1% is plutonium, and the rest are a wide variety of fission products with a lower atomic number and minor actinides (Figure 4). Spent fuel reprocessing technology allows the separation of uranium and plutonium isotopes from other actinides and fission products.  

illustration of PUREX nuclear separation process
Figure 4. PUREX separates the spent fuel into three phases. 


The predominant reprocessing option is called PUREX (plutonium and uranium reduction extraction). PUREX uses hydrometallurgical separation technology to separate the spent fuel into three phases:  

  1. Uranium isotopes
  2. Plutonium isotopes
  3. Fission products with minor actinides 

This third phase is considered HLW because of the presence of these minor actinides and the highly radioactive, medium-lived fission products (i.e. 90Sr and 137Cs with radioactive half-lives of about 30 years). The primary advantage of PUREX is the recycling of large amounts of usable uranium that would otherwise be considered as waste and the significant reduction in the HLW volume. 

While PUREX reduces waste volume, it doesn’t address its radioactivity. Also, the separation of 239Pu from other actinides generates nuclear weapons proliferation concerns. 

PUREX process variants have been proposed and implemented around the world to address HLW radioactivity and plutonium proliferation risks. These PUREX variants consist in blending 239Pu with minor actinides that would prevent it from being weaponized while creating an acceptable reprocessed actinide fuel blend. Other variants consist in blending uranium, plutonium, and all transuranics (elements with a higher atomic number than uranium) together, leaving fission products as the only waste. 

HLW recycling makes sense when one considers that more than 90% of the uranium is “unburned” when spent fuel rods are unloaded from the reactor. Recycling unused uranium and plutonium allows the generation of ~25-30% more electricity. At the end of 2020, 400,000 tonnes of used fuel had been generated globally from commercial nuclear power reactors, of which about 120, 000 tonnes (30%) has been reprocessed and reused as nuclear fuel.  


Advances in nuclear reactor designs 

Recent advances in the design of nuclear reactors have improved energy production’s efficiency and safety. The CAS Content Collection™ shows a significant increase in patent and journal activity since 2018 indicating a renewed interest, primarily driven by organizations in Asia (Figures 5a and 5b).  

top patent assignees for nuclear energy technology
Figure 5a. Top patent assignees for nuclear energy technology since 2000.
organizations with most nuclear energy journal publications since 2000
Figure 5b. Organizations with most journal publications on nuclear energy since 2000.


Figure 6 shows the publication volume associated with new, advanced nuclear reactor designs. The data confirms increasing research activity around these new nuclear reactor technologies.  

graph of publication volumes for types of nuclear reactor design
Figure 6. Advanced nuclear reactor designs and their association with publication volumes

 

Nuclear Energy's Future Potential 

The renaissance of nuclear energy has been an enduring theme, but several obstacles and challenges still make it difficult for nuclear energy to fulfill the hope and promise it generated decades ago. The large upfront capital, changing regulations, cost overruns, and political polarization have made nuclear power plant deliveries a decade-long, tortuous journey. This has been a serious deterrent for governments and investors to consider nuclear energy even if its advantages and potential are proven and undeniable. A recent Wall Street Journal article also addresses some of these challenges as well as recent developments in the field of nuclear energy technologies.

The need for carbon-free sources of energy, advances in new reactor technologies, and new spent fuel recycling and reuse alternatives could propel nuclear energy as a key tool in the arsenal to combat the global climate change challenge. 



Acknowledgement to Elaine McWhirter for scientific consultation.

Back to top