漫漫成功之路:优化下一代 mRNA 疫苗

Yingzhu Li, Senior Information Scientist, CAS

mRNA 疫苗成功故事

信使 RNA (mRNA) 疫苗对于许多人来说都是一个熟悉的概念,因为该疫苗在最终改变 COVID-19 疫情过程和预防数百万人死亡方面发挥着重要作用。然而,它们并不是一个新的发现。 事实上,mRNA 的治疗潜力可以追溯到 20 世纪 80 年代,当时假设 mRNA 可作为药物应用于经脂滴递送至靶点的过程此后,mRNA 疫苗旨在用于针对一系列病原体,包括寨卡病毒、狂犬病毒、流感病毒和巨细胞病毒。图 1 下方概述了 mRNA 疫苗诱发细胞和抗体介导免疫的作用机制。

mRNA 疫苗
图 1. mRNA 疫苗的作用机制

与传统疫苗直接引入抗原蛋白刺激宿主免疫应答不同,mRNA 疫苗引入编码疾病特异性抗原的 mRNA,利用宿主细胞的蛋白质合成机制产生抗原,从而触免疫应答。 在体内,这些外来抗原的产生为免疫系统识别和记忆这种病毒抗原做好了准备,可以抵御未来由相同抗原引起的病毒感染。


观看此视频,了解 mRNA 疫苗如何利用人体细胞产生 COVID-19 免疫反应。

 

mRNA 疫苗:漫长曲折之路

如果没有生物化学家、免疫学家和发育生物学家的开拓工作,就无法在抗击 COVID-19 中成功应用 mRNA 疫苗技术。 但通往成功的道路漫长且曲折,这个过程会面临着数十年的困境和技术争论。 研究人员起初发现因 mRNA 技术具有不稳定性而难以起效:随着脂质纳米颗粒 (LNP) 的发展,能够在很大程度上克服这一挑战。 在这些具有保护作用的小脂泡中包埋 mRNA 能够使其在不降解的情况下被递送至细胞中的正确位置。

虽然 mRNA 疫苗初步研究看上去前景广阔,但优化和升级疫苗平台的成本是限制大规模推广的主要因素。 早期曾尝试研制 mRNA 疫苗(包括禽流感疫苗)并实现商业化,但由于存在制造方面的挑战而被搁浅。 许多候选疫苗从未进入人体临床试验,ShireNovartis 等公司已经将他们 mRNA 疫苗产品组合出售。 公司无法看到该技术的经济潜力。

COVID-19 mRNA 疫苗的兴起

COVID-19 疫情对疫苗研发产生了巨大的影响。 一时间,mRNA 被迅速且成功地用作治疗新型冠状病毒 (SARS-CoV-2) 的疫苗。 通过相关协调研究工作,有两种 mRNA 候选疫苗迅速获得紧急批准,以抗击 COVID-19 疫情。 相对于传统疫苗,mRNA 疫苗存在几大优势,包括:

  • 安全优势,即无需与宿主基因组整合且无 DNA 相互作用(因此宿主不存在突变风险)、不含病毒颗粒且抗原表达比较短暂(限制其在体内的持久性)。

COVID-19 疫情期间,通过全球科学家们的通力合作,加快了 mRNA 疫苗的研发步伐,帮助我们克服了那些阻碍早期研究的挑战。 从疫情中获得的知识将对疫苗技术领域和探索使用 RNA 方法进行未来疫苗设计具有重要意义。

mRNA 疫苗研发管线

由于 COVID-19 mRNA 疫苗大获成功,目前约有 90 家技术领先公司正在研制针对大量病原体的 mRNA 候选疫苗。 Moderna 正在独家研制抗击爱泼斯坦-巴尔病毒、巨细胞病毒、季节性流感和呼吸道合胞病毒的 mRNA 疫苗。 同时也正在制定研制单纯疱疹病毒、多发性硬化症、癌症和人类免疫缺陷病毒 mRNA 疫苗的计划。 首个 mRNA 疟疾疫苗临床试验预计将于今年开始,希望解决这一长期以来被忽视的疾病。 该技术的应用似乎并无限制。

大致了解研发管线即可知道,研究人员正在探索一系列技术形式,包括修饰、非修饰和自我扩增 mRNA。 虽然 LNP 配方目前仍然是递送 mRNA 到其靶细胞最常见的方式,但同时也在对替代递送载体(如阳离子纳米乳液和聚合物)进行探索。 研发人员认为,这些新配方可能在稳定性、效力、免疫原性和效价等方面具有优势。 但约有四分之三的 mRNA 疫苗正处在临床前/研制探索阶段,我们还需要几年时间才能看到这些新技术在临床试验中的表现。

优化 mRNA 疫苗,以供将来使用

尽管 mRNA 疫苗领域近年来取得不断进步,但仍然存在数个流程研发挑战,例如质粒 DNA 供应、体外转录和包埋过程的复杂性、多种 mRNA 杂质谱以及超低温储存的需要。

还存在强化持续创新需求的其他因素,例如可能出现病毒变异的风险(正如 COVID-19 疫情中所看到的一样)、高剂量注射的必要和个体接种 SARS-CoV-2 疫苗后出现的注射部位反应。

稳定性

尽管属于重要属性之一,但对 mRNA 制剂(如 LNP-mRNA 和蛋白 mRNA 复合物)进行的稳定性研究较少,其中包括数个探讨冷冻干燥对 mRNA 完整性影响的研究。 其他方法包括喷雾干燥 mRNA 并生成 LyoSpheres(含有 mRNA 的冻干液滴)。 该研究领域将对未来 mRNA 疫苗大规模运用至关重要。

成本

如上所述,成本是限制早期 mRNA 疫苗发展的主要原因,这仍然是目前的一个重要考量因素。 目前,生产疫苗需要较多的 RNA,不仅耗时耗力,而且还会增加发生潜在副作用的危险(稍后再做详细介绍)。 此外,-70°C 极低温储存环境成本高昂,需要使用配送或疫苗中心通常没有的特殊冷冻箱。 研究人员预计 mRNA 疫苗所需的生产基础设施和原材料投资会在适当时候降低此类疫苗的成本。

降低剂量

应对 RNA 剂量降低挑战的方法之一是使用自我扩增 RNA。 
其在结构上与 RNA 类似,但体积更大,可编码能在递送到细胞时扩增原始 RNA 链的复制酶。 其结果是,只需最小剂量的 RNA 便可获得更高的蛋白质产量,由此带来额外的成本和效率优势。 然而,一个潜在的问题是分子大小及其对递送的影响。

mRNA 疫苗已经应用多年,但其临床潜力直到此次全球大流行才得以发掘。 短短几年内已经取得了巨大的进步。 在生产新一代 mRNA 疫苗所需条件方面优势明显。 关注该领域的最新发展。

mRNA 疫苗之外的治疗领域

如需了解 mRNA 疫苗之外的 RNA 衍生疗法,请参见我们的洞察报告“RNA 衍生药物:研究趋势和发展综述”,详见 RNA 在医疗中的应用以及化学修饰和纳米技术增强 RNA 药物递送和功效具体方式的部分。

Back to top

The long road to success: Refining the next generation of mRNA vaccines

Yingzhu Li, Senior Information Scientist, CAS

The mRNA vaccine success story

Messenger RNA (mRNA) vaccines are a familiar concept to many, owing to their role in substantially altering the course of the COVID-19 pandemic and preventing millions of deaths.However, they are not a novel discovery. In fact, the therapeutic potential of mRNAcan be linked back to the 1980s whenit washypothesized that mRNA could be used as a drug when delivered to a target via lipid droplets. Since then, mRNA vaccines have been designed to target an array of pathogens, including zika, rabies, influenza, and cytomegalovirus. Figure 1 below outlines the mechanism of action of mRNA vaccines for inducing cell- and antibody-mediated immunity.

mRNA vaccine
Figure 1. Mechanism of action of mRNA vaccines

In contrast to conventional vaccine approaches, which directly introduce antigenic proteins that stimulate an immune response in the host, mRNA vaccines introduce mRNA encoding to a disease-specific antigen and leverage the host cells’ protein synthesis machinery to produce antigens that elicit an immune response. The production of these foreign antigens within the body prepares the immune system to recognize and memorize this viral antigen so it is ready to fight off future infections caused by a virus with the same antigen.


Watch this video to see how an mRNA vaccine uses our bodies’ cells to generate immunity to COVID-19. 

 

mRNA vaccine: the long and winding road

The successful application of mRNA vaccine technology to combat COVID-19 would not have been possible without the pioneering work of biochemists, immunologists, and developmental biologists. But the road to success has been long and winding, with decades of dead ends and disputes over technology. Researchers initially found mRNA technology a struggle to work with due to its instability: a challenge that was largely overcome with the development of lipid nanoparticles (LNPs). Encapsulating mRNAs within these protective little fat bubbles enables them to be shuttled to the right place in cells without degrading.

While initial studies into mRNA vaccines looked promising, the cost of optimizing and upscaling vaccine platforms was a major limiting factor to large-scale rollout. Early attempts to develop and commercialize mRNA vaccines were abandoned due to manufacturing challenges, including a vaccine for avian influenza. Many of the candidate vaccines never progressed to in-human studies, and companies such as Shire and Novartis sold their mRNA vaccine portfolios. Companies could not see the economic potential in the technology. 

Rise of the COVID-19 mRNA vaccine

The COVID-19 pandemic had a big impact on vaccine development. Suddenly, mRNA was rapidly and successfully deployed as a vaccine to treat the novel coronavirus, SARS-CoV-2. Through a coordinated research effort, two mRNA vaccine candidates were quickly awarded emergency approval to fight COVID-19. These vaccines offered several advantages over conventional vaccines, including:

  • Safety advantages, namely the absence of integration into the host cell genome and no DNA interaction (thus, no mutational risk to the host), no viral particle formation, and transient antigen expression (limiting its persistence in the body).

The concerted efforts of scientists around the globe during the COVID-19 pandemic has accelerated mRNA vaccine development and helped us to overcome the challenges that hindered early research. The knowledge garnered from the pandemic will be valuable to the field of vaccine technology and the quest in producing future vaccine design using RNA approaches.

The mRNA vaccine pipeline

Bolstered by the success of the COVID-19 mRNA vaccines, around 90 lead developers are developing mRNA vaccine candidates for a vast array of pathogens. Moderna alone is developing mRNA vaccines to combat Epstein-Barr virus, cytomegalovirus, seasonal flu, and respiratory syncytial virus. Plans to develop mRNA vaccines for Herpes simplex virus, multiple sclerosis, cancer, and human immunodeficiency virus are also in the works. Clinical trials on the first mRNA-based malaria vaccine are set to start this year, with the hopes of tackling this long-neglected disease. The applications of this technology are seemingly limitless.

A glimpse into the pipeline shows that researchers are exploring a range of mRNA technology formats, including modified, non-modified, and self-amplifying mRNAs. While LNP formulation remains the most popular approach for delivering the mRNA to its target, alternative delivery vehicles, such as cationic nanoemulsions, and polymers, are also being explored. Developers believe that these new formulations may bring advantages in stability, potency, immunogenicity, and valency. However, with approximately three-quarters of mRNA vaccine candidates in the preclinical/exploratory phase of development, it will be several years before we see how these new technologies fare in clinical trials. 

Optimizing mRNA vaccines for future use

Though the field of mRNA vaccines has advanced in recent years, several process development challenges remain, such as Plasmid DNA supply, the complexity of in vitro transcription and encapsulation processes, varying mRNA impurity profiles, and the need for ultra-cold storage.

There are other factors that reinforce the need for continued innovation, such as the risk of potential emergence of viral variants (as seen with COVID-19) and the need for high dose administration and subsequent injection site reactions in individuals being vaccinated against SARS-CoV-2. 

Stability

Despite being an important attribute, minimal research has been performed investigating the stability profile of mRNA drug products, e.g., LNP-mRNA and protein mRNA complexes. include several that investigate the effects of freeze-drying on mRNA integrity. Other approaches include spray-drying mRNA and generating lyospheres (freeze-dried droplets with mRNA). This area of research will be crucial for large-scale mRNA vaccine deployment in the future.

Cost

As aforementioned, cost was a key limitation to the advancement of mRNA vaccines in the early days, and this is set to remain an important consideration. Currently, relatively high amounts of RNA are required to produce a vaccine, which not only costs time and money, but also increases the likelihood of potential side effects (more on this shortly). Furthermore, the ultra-low temperature storage of -70°C is costly, requiring special freezers that may not be normally present at distribution or vaccination centers. Researchers predict that investments in the manufacturing infrastructure and raw materials required for mRNA vaccines will also lower the cost of these vaccines in due time.

Lowering the dose

One way to navigate the challenges of RNA dose lowering is by using self-amplifying RNA. 
It is similar to RNA in terms of structure, but much larger, encoding a replicase that enables amplification of the original stand of RNA upon delivery into the cell. The result is a much higher yield of protein requiring a minimal dose of RNA, leading to additional cost and efficiency benefits. However, one potential issue is the size of the molecule and the impact of this on delivery.

mRNA vaccines have been in use for years, but their clinical potential remained untapped until the advent of a global pandemic. Substantial progress has been made in the space of a few years. The priorities are clear in terms of what’s required to produce a new generation of mRNA vaccines. Watch this space for new developments. 

A therapeutic world beyond mRNA vaccines

To uncover the world of RNA-derived therapeutics beyond mRNA vaccines, see our insights report “RNA-Derived Medicines: A review of the research trends and developments”, on the application of RNA in medicine and how chemical modifications and nanotechnology can enhance the delivery and efficacy of RNA pharmaceuticals.

Back to top