.

SciFinderⁿ 案例研究——小西化学工业株式会社

Inspiring Chemical Research and Development with SciFinderⁿ

We asked Konishi Chemical Industry Co., Ltd., a chemical research and development company based in Wakayama, Japan, how they use SciFindern, to speed up their science to develop profitable solutions in an ever changing market.

Konishi Chemical staff photo

The Chemical Research Department at Konishi Chemical Industry Co., Ltd.
Mitsuru Tomonori, Group Manager of the Research & Development Department
Shinke Satoshi, Research Group, Research & Development Department

小西化工 (Konishi Chemical) 的历史和打造世界一流化学产品生产能力的秘诀

CAS可以简单介绍一下小西化工的历史和概况吗?

Mitsuru Tomonori - 小西化工
Mitsuru Tomonori -
研发部小组经理
 

Mitsuru-san:公司于 1962 年在和歌山成立,一直从事化学制造业,使用磺化反应作为主要技术。我们不仅在和歌山工厂进行研究和生产,2013 年,我们还在福井县开设了工厂和生产部。

我们的总部位于和歌山 Koizaka,那里聚集了多家化工企业。早在江户时代,和歌山的纺织和染色工业即已蓬勃发展。起初,染色所需的合成染料大多是从德国进口。

第一次世界大战后,进口中断,只能在国内生产染料。那时,Yura Asajiro 成功制造出了苯胺——合成染料的重要成分。随后,他在 Koizaka 创办了 Yura Seiko(今本州化学工业株式会社 (Honshu Chemical Industry Co., Ltd.))。随着新制造技术的发展,更多化工企业在这里涌现,包括小西化工。

刚成立时,小西化工是一家以印染助剂为主的中间体化学品制造商。如今,我们正将我们的核心技术应用于新的技术领域,开发和生产各种用途的精细化学品,尽力满足客户不断变化的需求。

CAS:你们的主要产品是哪些?

Misturu-san:我们的主要产品是 DHDPS(二羟基二苯砜)。后来,我们开发出了适用于薄膜生产的高纯度 DHDPS 的制造工艺。我们在全球率先将这种高纯度产品的合成工业化,随后成为英国一家化学品制造商的供应商。该公司需要使用 DHDPS 作为超级工程塑料聚醚砜 (PES) 的原材料。 

当我们告知和歌山的一位供应商不能继续购买他们的原材料时,他们决定自己开发 DHDPS 制造技术。但是,事实证明,我们的专利技术更优,所以他们决定使用我们的技术。我们的产品被当时全球最大的公司看中,这让我们无比自豪。直到今天,我们仍然在为 PES 制造商供应 DHDPS。 

小西化工的磺化反应

PES 开始用于各种产品,包括飞机和人工透析机,随着对 PES 的需求增加,对 DHDPS 的需求也在不断增长。

CAS:小西现在进入了其他新的技术领域吗?

Mitsuru-san:是的。随着印度和中国化工制造业的兴起,我们正将研发重心从制造中间体转向新的技术领域。 

磺化技术一直是我们的优势,我们正努力将这一技术应用到新的领域,包括聚合物。我们开发的磺化聚醚砜具有砜官能团所表现出的性质,例如质子和电子导电性。我们预计它将可用于燃料电池的电解质膜、功能分离膜等领域。

我们还在研究 PSQ(聚倍半硅氧烷)——这种化合物既具有硅氧烷键的无机性质,又具有有机官能团的有机性质。这种杂化材料因其优异耐热性、透光度和硬度性能而备受追捧。由于 PSQ 在半导体电阻和 LED 封装和涂层材料方面的潜在应用,预计 PSQ 市场将会增长。2018 年 10 月,我们新开了一间工厂,并建立了一条无机产品 (PSQ) 专用生产线,为未来的大规模生产做好准备。

2002 年以来,我们还生产多功能环氧树脂,用于飞机的碳纤维复合材料。环氧树脂制造已成为我们一项新的优势。

小西化工的环氧树脂

CAS:小西化工在化学品开发方面具有哪些优势?

Mitsuru-san:在合同制造中,我们不是简单地重新制造一种之前已经完成的产品。我们从客户所处的开发阶段开始,与客户一起进行产品开发。

在研究和开发过程中,我们都假设我们将会扩大生产规模,而且我们在实验室试验阶段也始终牢记生产技术和化学工程。我们将这称为“R&D-E”(研发工程),而不只是简单的 R&D(研发)。
 
CAS:开创全球认可的研究和制造技术的秘诀是什么?

Mitsuru-san:积极开放的企业文化始终激励着我们的员工。首席执行官 (CEO) 也会积极主动与员工沟通。例如,我们有一个“移动办公”计划——CEO 每月都有一周会下到不同部门进行现场办公,与团队进行交流。 

我们还有一个“倾听沟通”计划——挑选出的员工有机会与 CEO 一对一交谈 30 分钟。如果员工提出了好的建议,CEO 会立即向管理层传达,确保建议得到采纳。这不仅可以发现有变革意义的想法,还提高了员工的积极性。无论年轻员工还是资深员工,这些举措都有助于营造一种主动表达自己想法的企业文化。

2016 年,公司 CEO Hironori Konishi 在《日刊工业新闻》(Nikkan Kogyo Shimbun) 主办的“优秀管理奖”中荣获优秀经理人奖。

 

小西化工如何使用 SciFinderⁿ 提高效率

CAS:您平时是如何使用 SciFindern 的?

Shinke Satoshi - 小西化工
Shinke Satoshi -
研发部
 

Shinke-san:我是在信息检索小组,我们使用 SciFindern 进行研究和开发,特别是当我们需要特定化合物的专利相关信息或合成路径或生产方法等信息时。在开发的早期阶段,员工也会用它来收集信息。 

CAS:您觉得 SciFindern 易于使用吗?

Shinke-san:哪怕对于新手,这个界面也很简单易用。以前从没用过 SciFindern 的新员工也跟我说,他们马上就会用了,没有碰到任何问题。我认为 SciFindern 中的 PatentPak® 提供了很大帮助。专利中化学物质的位置一目了然,提高了工作效率。 

外语文献也制作成了可检索文本的 PDF,可以检索关键词,然后复制/粘贴到翻译软件中。这大大减少了完成这些任务所需的时间。根据 CAS 登记号® (CAS RN) 进行专利检索的结果可以方便地按概念(索引)进行筛选。

SciFinder-n 小西化工案例研究中的 PatentPak 缩略图
查看大图 SciFinder-n 中的 PatentPak" data-entity-type="file" data-entity-uuid="f4b3807d-879d-4916-8ad7-1e15cfba396a" src="/sites/default/files/inline-images/konishi-patentpak-thumbnail_0.png" />


CAS:我们从更多期刊中收录了实验部分,希望进一步提高 SciFindern 的实用性。您是否还会用它来监控专利?

Shinke-san:我每周会使用一次提醒功能,以监控与我们产品相关的包含 CAS RN 的文件。无论好信息还是坏信息,例如化学品的用途以及是否侵犯了专利权,都可以用它来收集。我还可以按年份来筛选结果。
 
CAS 帮助台也很重要。如果遇到了任何问题,可以致电或发送电子邮件,而且很快就能收到准确的答复。帮助台的工作人员具备扎实的化学知识,他们不仅会回答关于如何使用 SciFindern 的问题,还会根据用户的研究,提供有关检策略和方法的建议。

通过制造业造福社会的喜悦

CAS:谈谈您对未来的期望。

Mitsuru-san:我认为,小西化工的优势在于文化,我们任何人的想法都可能立即得到优先考虑。在这样的环境中,我们觉得一切努力都很值得。我希望,我们公司可以继续贡献社会,同时提高技术能力,并给我自己和所有员工带来幸福快乐。

Shinke-san:无论合同开发还是内部开发,如果你的想法被应用到各种产品中,并通过制造业传播到世界各地,这种感觉真不错。由于我们不生产最终产品,所以我们的名字没有出现在包装上。但我始终追求的开发模式是,我可以自豪地说,我是其中一员,而且我为关键突破作出了贡献。

CAS:感谢你们抽出时间参加访谈。能有机会讨论贵公司的化学研发业务以及贵公司如何使用 SciFindern,我们非常感激。  


关于小西化工

小西化工的办事处和工厂
小西化工 - 办事处和工厂

小西化工成立于 1962 年,年销售额达 52 亿日元(2019 年 3 月 31 日结束的财政年度),拥有 125 名员工(截至 2019 年 4 月)。

公司专业从事有机化合物的一般合成、磺化技术、环氧化技术和硅基有机/无机杂化材料,并开展精密化学品和功能化学品的研究、开发、制造和销售。 

公司以“Integral Chemistry”(整合化学)为宗旨,提供电子材料、航空材料、先进技术材料(例如燃料电池和有机发光二极管)和医药中间体等产品,满足各类客户的需求。

https://www.konishi-chem.co.jp/

.

SciFinderⁿ Case Study - Konishi Chemical Industry Co.

Inspiring Chemical Research and Development with SciFinderⁿ

We asked Konishi Chemical Industry Co., Ltd., a chemical research and development company based in Wakayama, Japan, how they use SciFindern, to speed up their science to develop profitable solutions in an ever changing market.

Konishi Chemical staff photo

The Chemical Research Department at Konishi Chemical Industry Co., Ltd.
Mitsuru Tomonori, Group Manager of the Research & Development Department
Shinke Satoshi, Research Group, Research & Development Department

The history of Konishi Chemical and secret to its world-class chemical manufacturing capabilities

CAS: Could you give us a brief history and summary of Konishi Chemical Industry?

Mitsuru Tomonori - Konishi Chemical
Mitsuru Tomonori -
Group Manager, Research Department
 

Mitsuru-san: Since its founding in Wakayama in 1962, the company has been using sulfonic reactions as a principal technique in the chemical manufacturing industry. In addition to conducting research and carrying out production at our plant in Wakayama, we opened a factory and production department in Fukui Prefecture in 2013.

Kozaika in Wakayama, where we are based, is home to a cluster of diversified chemical companies. From the Edo era onward, Wakayama had a thriving weaving and dyeing industry. Initially, synthetic dyes for dyeing were mostly imported from Germany.

After the First World War, imports were stopped and dyes had to be produced domestically. At this time, Yura Asajiro succeeded in manufacturing aniline, an important ingredient of synthetic dyes. He went on to found Yura Seiko (now Honshu Chemical Industry Co., Ltd.) in Kozaika. As new manufacturing techniques were developed, additional chemical companies were introduced to the area, including Konishi Chemical.

At the time it was founded, Konishi Chemical was an intermediate chemical manufacturer with a primary business in dyeing additives. Today, we are applying our core techniques to new technical areas and developing and producing fine chemicals for a variety of applications to support the evolving needs of our customers.

CAS: What are your main products?

Misturu-san: Our main product is DHDPS (dihydroxydiphenyl sulfone). Over time, we  developed a process for manufacturing high-purity DHDPS suitable for the manufacturing of photo film. We were the first company in the world to succeed in industrializing the synthesis of this high-purity product and subsequently became the supplier to a British chemical manufacturer. The company needed DHDPS as a raw material for a super engineering plastic called polyether sulfone (PES). 

When they thought that they we wouldn't be able to continue to buy their raw materials from a small supplier in Wakayama, they decided to develop their own DHDPS manufacturing technique. However, our patented technique proved to be superior, so they decided to get a license for our technique. We were proud that our product was selected by the world's largest company at the time, and today, we continue to supply DHDPS to manufacturers of PES.

**

 

As the demand for PES increases for use in a wide range of goods, including aircraft and artificial dialysis machines, so too does the demand for DHDPS.

CAS: Has Konishi been involved in other new technical fields?

Mitsuru-san: Yes. With the recent rise of chemical manufacturing in India and China, we are shifting research and development away from manufacturing intermediates towards new technical fields. 

Since our strength has always been in sulfonation techniques, we are working to expand the application to new fields, including polymers. The sulfonated polyether sulfone we developed has properties exhibited by sulfone groups, such as proton and electron conductivity. We anticipate that it will have applications in electrolyte film used in fuel cells, functional separation membranes and more.

We are also working on PSQ (polysilsesquioxane), a compound that has both inorganic properties from siloxane bonds and organic properties from organic functional groups. This hybrid material is sought after for its heat resistance, optical transparency and hardness. The market for PSQ is expected to expand due to potential application in semiconductor resistors and as an LED encapsulation and coating material. With an eye on future mass production, we constructed a new plant and established a production line dedicated to inorganic (PSQ) in October 2018.

Since 2002, we have also manufactured multi-functional epoxy resins used in carbon fiber composite materials for aircraft. Epoxy resin manufacturing has become one of our new strengths.

Konishi case study resin manufacture

CAS: What are the chemical product development strengths of Konishi Chemical Industry?

Mitsuru-san: In contract manufacturing, we don't simply recreate an previously completed product. We work together with the customer on product development, starting from where they are in their development process.

During both research and development, we assume that we will scale up production and we keep production technology and chemical engineering in mind as we perform experiments in the laboratory. We refer to this as "R&D-E” (Research & Development Engineering) rather than simply R&D.
 
CAS: What's the secret to creating research and manufacturing techniques that are globally accepted?

Mitsuru-san: Our positive and open corporate culture motivates our employees. The CEO is also proactive in communicating with employees. For example, we have an initiative that we call "moving desk", where the CEO moves his desk to a different department for one week every month to socialize with the team. 

Another initiative is one we call "listening communication", where selected employees have the opportunity to talk one-to-one with the CEO for 30 minutes. If an employee makes a good suggestion, the CEO immediately passes it on to management to ensure the suggestion is taken on board. In addition to identifying ideas for change, it also enhances employee motivation. Whether you are a young employee or a veteran, these initiatives make for a corporate culture where people can be proactive about their ideas.

In 2016, CEO Hironori Konishi won the Excellent Manager Award at the "Excellent Management Awards" sponsored by Nikkan Kogyo Shimbun.

 

How Konoshi uses SciFinderⁿ to be more efficient

CAS: How do you use SciFindern on a daily basis?

Shinke Satoshi - Konishi Chemical
Shinke Satoshi -
Research Department
 

Shinke-san: I work in the information search group and use SciFindern for research and development, particularly when we need patent-related information or information on synthesis routes or manufacturing methods for a specific chemical compound. Employees also use it to gather information in the early stages of development. 

CAS: Do you find SciFindern easy to use?

Shinke-san: The interface is easy to use, even for beginners. In fact, new employees who had never used SciFindern before told me they were able to use it immediately without issues. I find PatentPak® in SciFindern to be a great help. The location of a chemical substance in the patent can be seen at a glance, which makes for more efficient work. 

Foreign-language publications are also available as text-searchable PDF, so you can search by keyword and copy/paste the text into translation software. This has reduced the amount of time I spend on these tasks considerably. It's also convenient that the results of a patent search by CAS Registry Number® (CAS RN) can be filtered by concept (index).

Thumbnail of PatentPak in SciFinder-n Konishi case study
View full image PatentPak in SciFinder-n


CAS: For SciFindern, we've recorded the experimental section from an expanded range of journals in the hope that this will make it more useful. Do you also use it for things like patent monitoring?

Shinke-san: I use the alert function once a week to monitor documents containing CAS RNs relevant to our products. It is useful for gathering both good and bad information, such as what a chemical is being used for and whether any patents have been infringed. It also allows me to filter the results by year.
 
The CAS helpdesk is also important. If you have a problem, you can call or email to get a prompt and accurate response. The helpdesk staff  have solid chemistry backgrounds who not only answer questions  about how to use SciFindern, but advise users  on search strategies and approaches suitable for your research.

The joy of contributing to society through the manufacturing industry

CAS: Tell us about your aspirations for the future.

Mitsuru-san: I think the strength of Konishi Chemical is that we have a culture where anyone's idea can immediately become a top priority. It's a workplace that makes your efforts feel worthwhile. As a company, I hope we can continue working to contribute to society, while improving our technical capabilities and working in a way that brings happiness for myself and the employees.

Shinke-san: Whether it's contract development or in-house development, it's good when you feel that your ideas have been applied in various products that are circulating around the world through the manufacturing industry. As we don't make the end product, our name is not on the package. However, I'm constantly aiming for the kind of development where I can be proud to say I was involved in it and I was one of the reasons for the breakthrough.

CAS: Thank you for your time today. We appreciate the opportunity to discuss your chemical research and development business and how you use SciFindern .  


About Konishi

Konishi Chemical offices and plant
Konishi Chemical - offices and plant

Founded in 1962, Konishi Chemical has annual sales of 5.2 billion yen (fiscal year ending March 31, 2019) and 125 employees (as of April 2019).

The company specializes in the general synthesis of organic compounds, sulfonation techniques, epoxidation techniques and silicon-based organic/inorganic hybrid materials, and conducts research, development, manufacturing, and marketing of precision chemicals and functional chemicals. 

Under the motto "Integral Chemistry", it meets the needs of customers with products utilizing electronic materials, aircraft materials, materials for advanced technologies, such as fuel cells and organic EL, and pharmaceutical intermediates.

https://www.konishi-chem.co.jp/en